Ceviche de Toronja

Ceviche de Toronja

My grandmother brought me home the latest O magazine the other day, and in the recipe section I found this amazing photo of a blood orange salsa.  I tore it out and stuck it on the fridge for us to make the next day.  I didn’t copy the recipe exactly, because the photo was inspiration enough.  We had just received 1/2 bushel of grapefruits and oranges from The Orange Shop in Citra, Florida, and we had the rest of the ingredients in the fridge.  I segmented 1 grapefruit and 2 clementines (a bit tricky, but we had to use them up!), working over the serving bowl to catch the juices.  Then I added the seeds of about  1/4  pomegranate; 1/2 an avocado, diced; 1 handful of cilantro, roughly chopped; 1/4 of a red onion, thinly sliced; and 1/2 a jalapeno pepper, thinly sliced.  I seasoned it with salt, 1 tablespoon of honey, and a squeeze of lemon.  The juices collect at the bottom of the bowl, and the “ceviche” marinates itself as it sits.  We ate this with a special chicken dish I will share one day, along with sweet potato.  My grandmother thinks it would be the perfect bed for any type of fish ceviche, and I agree.  The combination of grapefruit and pomegranate is rare, but they compliment each other perfectly.

Buen Provecho!

Leave a Reply

