Cabbage, Kohlrabi, and Carrot Salad

You might not think that this salad is Mexican, but I had something similar at a Mexican restaurant the other night and was inspired to post it.  Actually, the more that I think about it, the less Mexican it seems.  Here goes nothing. . .

This past Summer in Oregon, we visited an organic farm on the coast.  The farmer there told us that she ate kohlrabi cut in a julienne on her tacos, as if it were jicama.  That idea seemed genius to me.  The other night my friend and I went for dinner to a Mexican restaurant here in the city.  I ordered a side dish made with raw sliced cabbage, jicama, and cucumber tossed with sesame oil and toasted pumpkin seeds. We couldn’t get over how delicious it was, and I really wanted to post a salad like that on this blog.  I wanted to use kohlrabi instead of jicama, because it is a local vegetable with a similar texture and flavor.  They are both crispy and refreshing.  I decided to steam the cabbage for my version, because I love the dreamy color of purple cabbage when it is cooked.

Cabbage, Kohlrabi, and Carrot Salad

You do not really need to measure much.  I peeled 1 large carrot, 1 bulb of kohlrabi, and removed the outer layers of the purple cabbage.  I only used half the cabbage head and saved the rest for later.  I sliced the cabbage very thinly, and then grated the carrot and kohlrabi with a cheese grater.  I steamed everything lightly together and seasoned it with salt and pepper.  I then transferred them to a large bowl, where I tossed them with apple cider vinegar, lime juice, and walnut oil (you can use olive oil or sesame oil).  I then added a couple tablespoons of toasted pumpkin seeds. This is a simple side dish that is light, but appropriate for Winter. It makes a large quantity, which is enough for 4 people, and maybe more than that.  It is always nice to have a bit leftover for lunch the next day.

Leave a Reply

