Sophia Cooks Mexican


5 de Mayo
May 5, 2009, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Recipes

I am embarrassed about how long it has been since my last entry.  I was overwhelmed with Kitchen Caravan work, and then headed across the pond to London for a week, so I have been absent from this blog for about 1 month! I hope this never happens again. I love traveling, but I love to cook even more, so when I can’t get my hands dirty I feel slightly off kilter.

5 de Mayo does not really exist in Mexico as a holiday.  The only place where I know that it is celebrated is in Puebla, where a famous battle was won against the French army in 1862.  I only know that because I actually went to Puebla last January, and was surprised that the holiday was really celebrated in Mexico.  I had always thought it was an American thing.

Since this holiday is really only an excuse to drink (as if we need one), I am providing my newest cocktail.  The Rhubarb Margarita. There is nothing more I can really say about this, besides that I hope you enjoy this cocktail on other occasions, and not just today.  Celebrate Mexico every day!

The Rhubarb Margarita

The Rhubarb Margarita

The Rhubarb Margarita
2 tablespoons Rhubarb Mixer (see recipe below)
1 ounce tequila
1 juicy lime
Ice
Sugar or Salt-rimmed glasses

For each drink: combine the Rhubarb Mixer, tequila, and lime juice in a martini shaker or stir together in a small bowl.  Strain into a salt-rimmed glass and add a cube or two of ice.  Delicious!

Rhubarb Mixer:
1 cup thinly sliced rhubarb
3 tablespoons agave nectar
½ cup water

Make the Rhubarb Mixer by placing the sliced rhubarb in a small sauce pan with the water and agave nectar.  Bring to a boil, then simmer on low heat until the rhubarb comes apart completely, and the liquid becomes quite syrupy.  You should end up with about 1 cup.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The rhubarb margarita looks absolutely
delicious!

Comment by Elizabeth

OMG. This looks so good!

Comment by chrissy




Leave a Reply

