Sophia Cooks Mexican


My First Cooking Class!
January 28, 2009, 11:35 pm
Filed under: Recipes

This morning I taught my first real cooking class!  It was so exciting to teach people one-on-one how to make some of our wonderful recipes.  My cousin who lives in Chappaqua, NY (home of the Clintons for all of you who don’t know) got together with some of her friends and organized the event. We woke up to lots of snow and school cancellations, but managed to pull together the group despite our obstacles.

Chocolate and Anise Champurrado Tart

I taught the women how to make some of our favorite Kitchen Caravan recipes: Arugula Salad with Squash and Pomegranate, Sea Bass with Orange Chile Sauce, and the infamous Chocolate & Anise “Champurrado” Tart.  The fish was a dish originally from our “Oaxacan Guelaguetza” episode from the Summer of 2007, when we used Red Snapper.  This time I used Striped Bass, a much better choice as it is approved as Eco-OK by Ocean’s Alive.  We dredged the skin-side of the fish in flour before slipping it into the pan, which gave each piece a really nice crispy skin.  The sauce is super easy to make, and I would love to teach as many people as I can how to work with Mexican chiles, as they really broaden your possibilities in the kitchen.  I think they were all surprised by how easy it is to work with dried Ancho and Guajillo chiles, and transform them into a delectable sauce.

The Champurrado Tart was another succes, and I taught the ladies each step in preparing a proper tart crust.  I love making tarts, but I know that a lot of people are intimidated by working with dough.  Anyway, the chocolate and anise combination makes my heart melt every time, and I was sad to not take any home.   I look forward to more cooking classes in the future!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

